• The Mediterranean
  • Prize delivery
  • Premiere of the work
  • Premiere of the Suite (show Journeying)


Nature and poetry.

  • Work
    • 083
  • Name
    • Mediterranean
  • City and date
    • Banyoles, August 1998
  • Duration
    • 23’ (original) - 10'30 (suite)
  • Instrumentation
    • cobla and piano (original) - flute, oboe, violoncel, voice, percussions and piano (suite) - 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 horns, 2 trumpets, 1 percussionist, strings and piano (simfonic arranjament)
  • Premiere
    • Banyoles, La Draga October 26, 1998 Cobla: La Principal de la Bisbal Director: Francesc Cassú Piano: Paco Viciana
  • Premiere (adaptation)
    • Segur de Calafell, Church of the Assumption August 25, 2002 Flute: Esteve Zulet Oboe: Almudena Jambrina Voice: Gloria Garcés Cello: Daniel Regincós Percussions: Cidon Trindade Piano: Paco Viciana

Musical tribute to the space of water and sky that we call this our sea, The Mediterranean, Mare Nostrum. I, like the Mediterranean that I am, I wanted to do something to manifest two things: the energy and vitality that this immense blue sea gives us, and the wild and irrational plunder to which we press daily.

The work begins directly with the exposition of the main theme, tremendously lyrical and emotive, later contrasted with other melodies no less emotional. If any aspect defines this work, it is the motive exuberance, in connotation with the exuberance of life that hides this sea, since throughout all the work we find many new reasons, and each one of them more lyrical. Once exposed all this vitality and exuberance, we enter the most intimate part of the work, where in several expositions of tender and sensual subjects we set up in a bucolic world, where the beings that inhabit the sea play among them, as if they were all in an immense love affair. We left this section suddenly with the most dramatic and hard part of the work, with dissonant clusters and a clearly stabbing and rhythmic piano, thus manifesting the savage plunder of the sea. We abandon the hard and dramatic part of the work recovering the lyrical and emotive theme of the beginning, entering now in a lush coda of more and more new themes, manifesting this time clearly and without doubt the exuberance of the sea. The work ends in a strong and high end.


Premiere of the work in Banyoles

Original work for cobla and piano that later I arranged for symphonic orchestra and piano and a selection of the work in the form of Suite (about 10 minutes of duration) for a small musical group: flute, oboe, voice, cello, percussions and piano .

Prize-winning work with the 1st prize in the 14th Musical Contest of composition for cobla Ceret-Banyoles in 1998. 

Work included in the show Journeying (2002)



-Mediterranean (original version for cobla and piano)

mix concert - (2'36): 

full concert - (22'46):    
  • Cobla: La Principal de la Bisbal
  • Piano: Paco Viciana
  • Direction: Francesc Cassú
Concert at the sports Center La Draga of Banyoles, on October 26, 1998.
Score in pdf (original version for cobla and piano):

-Mediterranean (version for orchestra and piano) (22'23) 

Score in pdf (version for orchestra and piano):

-Mediterranean (Suite) (short ensemble version) (10'21)

  • Flute: Esteve Zulet
  • Oboe: Almudena Jambrina
  • Voice: Glòria Garcés
  • Cello: Daniel Regincós
  • Percussions: Cidon Trindade
  • Piano: Paco Viciana
Concert at the church of l'Assumpció de Segur de Calafell on August 25, 2002.
Score in pdf (Suite - short ensemble version):